1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the 1917 world, in fact I am not sure mine has all the pieces. It was kinda one of those deals.
What is the purpose for the threads on the the small end of the barrel, I have noticed some have them and some do not.
Thanks in advance for your time in helping me.
Dan

·
Registered
2,280 Posts
Argentine I think, '28 model export guns? I have one that came with my '28 kit . I have several GI barrels and they do not have threads. Booster cups or BFA maybe?

·
Premium Member
5,467 Posts
US Army Ordnance produced barrels will have the drawing number D35388-something for the revision number the Manufacturer ID such as RIA a "P" for proof testing and sometimes a few other letters that were likely some sort of production code. US made standard production barrels at least up to revision 19 did not have any threads on the muzzle end.

·
Registered
3,066 Posts
I don't think a BFA or booster would have worked on the 1917 barrel as it was a strictly recoil operated design . Restricting the gas pressure in the barrel would not have accomplished anything. The BFA/booster would have to have been attached as a part of the barrel bearing not the barrel. The threads could have been for a flash hider or to attach a tool to adjust the headspace without having to take the whole weapon apart to do so. This was always a problem with the A4 or 1917 and was corrected with the A6 which could be adjusted with the weapon assembled by using a M6 wrench on the end of the barrel. However I believe this arrangement would have only worked in one direction depending on if it was a right or left hand thread. Then again it would depend on the design of the tool.

·
PhD in Over-Engineering
12,236 Posts