1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As Im new to reloading, Im still learning the ins and outs of what products to buy and who to avoid. I learned this week that Frankford Arsenal has pretty $hitty quality control. I bought a impact bullet puller on Saturday, brought it home and realized it was missing one of the collar inserts. Tonight I drove back to the store and exchanged it for another one. (counted the inserts this time.)....well......I get home and actually took them out and realized they included a mismatched number of the specific collars. ( supposed to be 3 of each size, I got 4 of size 1 and only 2 of size 2)

Ill eat the gas and time for one defective product...but TWO in a ROW, back to back? Cmon. I emailed them tonight and asked that they mail me the proper part. Its only a 20 dollar tool, but its costing me three times as much in gas and time to fix this.

Has anybody else had QC problems with Frankford?

·
Registered
1,665 Posts
Not going to specifically rag on Frankfort, but why the different size collets? My impact bullet puller has three pieces wrapped in a rubber band, does everything from 9mm to .45.

I built a home-made impact 50bmg bullet puller. 2x4 with a hole drilled, my lee shell-holder, and a rubber band ;)

·
Premium Member
757 Posts
I just take out the cheap internal parts and use the shell holder for the appropriate cartridge. Works fine.

--fjruple

·
Registered
4,289 Posts
My impact bullet puller has three pieces wrapped in a rubber band, does everything from 9mm to .45.

;)
same here... & its only about $12.... ive beat it to death for several years.. no problems.

collet-bullet-puller.JPG

·
Registered
2,993 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
same here... & its only about $12.... ive beat it to death for several years.. no problems.

View attachment 14532