1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a new M3 coming from Allied. My Allied 1919's love belts and I saw .50 cal belts for sale at IMA, so I ordered a couple. They exactly match in every detail the .30 cal belts I bought from IMA two months ago for my 1919's.

I'm no expert on belts, but I can't see any way that a .50 cal projectile and casing are going to fit into a .30 cal. hole. Before I call up IMA on Monday and ask, "What the f--k, over?", I would like to know if there is such a thing as "dual-use" cloth belts. Any information would be appreciated! :confused:

·
I wanna go shooting NOW!
3,251 Posts

·
Registered
3,213 Posts
I wonder if they somehow got it mixed up and instead of sending you the 50cal belts they sent you the 50 round .30 cal belts??? I got some of them .30 belts, if you need a tarp tied down they are pretty slick. Hotch

·
PhD in Over-Engineering
12,091 Posts
You're too funny, Hotch!

I got three of the .50 cal belts from IMA last year. They are definitely .50 cal belts and can't be confused with .30 cal. Looks like they pulled the wrong ones for you. I'm sure they'll take care of you though.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Lucky,

How are you loading your 50 cal belts? I have 6 of them I bought for my new M2HB kit and haven't tried to load any yet. Seems like hand loading would be a real PIA since these are new and never stretched out.

CT

·
Premium Member
3,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Loading .50 cal. belts

I can't afford any of the USGI .50 cal. belt loaders, but "BEFU" on this forum has agreed to work up a single-round loader (similar to his .30 cal. loader). The idea is very much in the development stages, but if you are interested in a .50 cal. single round loader send him a PM. I'm sure he would be happy to have more than one customer. ;)

·
PhD in Over-Engineering
12,091 Posts