1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
742 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you stuck with me behind the iron curtain...

Did anyone pay attention to the fact that sign away Newscum signed sb218/ab88?

This basically closed the little feature about long guns, M2's fell into this "other" category. So now M2's have been deemed AW's and are no longer legal. My guess is that 1919's will also fall into this category also.

Has anyone DROS'd an M2 in CA in the last couple of months or a 1919? Did it happen or were you denied?

·
Registered
756 Posts
I'm aware of it; but I think a lot of people aren't. The main intent was to close the door on that fellow that came out with an AR-type rifle that completely got around the Cali assualt rifle ban. In doing so, they closed the door on a lot of other weapons, which does not bother the Cali Dem's one bit. I am not an expert on this particular law, but part of the write-up for it said:

This bill would expand the definition of “assault weapon” to include a semiautomatic firearm that is not a rifle, pistol, or shotgun, that either does not have a fixed magazine but has any one of the attributes currently associated with assault weapons, as specified, that has a fixed magazine with the capacity to accept more than 10 rounds, or that has an overall length of less than 30 inches.

3 additions:
1. Does not have a fixed magazine but has any of the attributes currently associated with assault rifles; OR
2. has a fixed magazine with a capacity to accept more than 10 rounds; OR
3. Has an overall length under 30".

Cali defines an "assault rifle" -- I'm just going off the top of my head here - as any center fire rifle with a detachable magazine AND any one or more of the other features - flash hider, pistol grip under the barrel, pistol grip under the receiver, folding stock.