1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is a WWI or WWII vintage T&E (or whatever!). The big adjustment wheel looks to be painted (black) brass, and as you can see in the pictures, it is pretty rough on the edges. Some of the other smaller parts appear to be brass/bronzed as well (finer adjustment knob).
I can't make out all the drawing numbers, but here goes:
on the top: B1266469-4 (with also a conjoined AD)
on the top over on the side is: X1335, with a WHH underneath it

on the vertical cylinder: 40482, there's also a small flaming bomb on the side
on the vertical cylinder on the other side: B-295549, again with that AD as well
on the very bottom of the cylinder, there's a : L M C
IMG_6616.JPG IMG_6615.JPG IMG_6617.JPG

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,128 Posts
I am not an expert on these, someone will chime in shortly I am sure. The drawing numbers present put it at the earliest mid 30s. I am sure Riverrats probably has the drawing number on a sheet that will narrow down the exact time frame. BUT the configuration of the pin, and the knob with the parrelel hashers (grip indentations, as well as the brass present would lead me to believe an earlier production WW2 T&E. Not sure if the AD is for Anniston Army Depot or a manufacturer. As I said this is an area I do not pretend to have expertise on.

·
Registered
7,183 Posts
As with the 1918 belt loaders made before WW2,many of the parts were brass. After Feb-Mar 1942,many of the parts were re-spec'd to be made of cast iron or steel....as brass/copper was considered a 'war-critical' material. Therefore,all the belt loaders and T&E's that I've seen made after 1942 do not have any brass parts/pieces. I concur that the T&E you are asking about was definitly made before WW2. Believe the first T&E's made for the 1919 appeared in the late 20's or early 30's. Depends on when the M2 tripod was put into military service.....

·