1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Was hoping someone could assist me with a few questions. I have been sitting on one of these loaders for quite a few years. How it got here to South Africa is probably an interesting story, but one I do not have access to.
From reading through this site, it seems that my main problem (a missing crank arm/handle) is quite common, and seems my chances of finding one are minimal to zero. I have seen so many pics of various loaders, and cannot pinpoint exactly what the handle for mine would look like. i have pics of 3 variations with slightly different bends and shapes, but would really love to see a few pics of the exact Colt 30/06 one to see if it could be fabricated.

Now I think I am considered lucky to have the hopper for mine, as I hear many are missing hoppers. However, what confuses me is that I have 2 different hoppers for mine. One is a short wide hopper, and the other is a tall thin feeding guide. Both fit separately, and I assume one is for 30/06, but is the other for 303 or .....?
Did these come with 2 different hoppers for 2 calibers?

On the far side of the hopper in the first pic, you can just make out a dovetail fitting. What went in there?

Lastly, why would the name plate on mine not have a serial? As you can see, it is nicely labelled, but the part where the serial would be seems to be blank. Odd?

Sorry, not selling the machine or any hoppers at this stage. Just preserving it for the next owner oneday in the future. Apologize for the dust, it seems like a dust magnet. The current handle is just for display (from an old mincing machine) and seems to complete the look. But would love to get it more complete.

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Hi all,