Registered
703 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you do this everytime you shoot it?
Everytime you change ammo makes?
Change from links to belts?
Anytime there are problems?
Constantly?

I just want to be safe and I am new to this stuff.
I currently check it each time I take it to the range.
Is this enough? I have had no problems but want none.

Thanks!

·
Master Window Licker
2,853 Posts
Everytime i take it out and every several thousand i recheck it.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Unless the barrel moves on you, you only need to re headspace the gun if you change ammo brands/types or if you disassemble the gun to the point of disturbing the setting.

If you don't change ammo brands/types, you can assume that it is going to be the same size and should run just like the previous belt did.

Of course, practice is always a good thing.

·
Registered
864 Posts
I use original GI barrels and good quality ammo. I head space according to the JM Browning method and only check it when I remove the barrel and reinstall/replace it.

·
Registered
319 Posts
Depening on caliber, get a military issue headspace (timing gauge also for FA)
gauge.

There is no way to screw this up if you do it according to the TM and have the above items. Doing it this way ensures that you will not hurt yourself or other people near the weapon when firsed.

How often to check it? Check the headspace WITH A GAUGE and do a function check before you shoot each time. After this is done, your will fire the weapon.