1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The past two times I've taken my semi out I have had a problem with the plunger falling out of place and binding the gun up on the first round.

This gun used to run flawlessly, belt after belt.

Any ideas as to what may be causing this condition? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
380 Posts
plunger problem

I have the same problem. behind the accelerator is a little button that
fits in a hole in the lock frame. this may have come out and you may
have not noticed it. if there is a hole there then it came out. my plunger
flew out but not the spring. that little steel button is there for a reason.
i am no expert but i think this is what happened. PLEASE let me know if
that is what the problem was because i am always interested in helping out a
fellow shooter. thank you

john

·
Premium Member
6,504 Posts
That little button is the accelerator stop and can be seen in the photo. When the right side of the lockframe is milled down for semi use the rivet part of the stop is significantly shortened and sometimes will loosen up. Look closely at the photo and you can see the darker rivet head in the right side rail. Whover mills the internals should have put a small spot weld or braze just to the rear of the stop on the inside to keep it from coming out.

If it has come out then the accelerator is moving too far rearward and causing the plunger to jump from the slot in the left side rail.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
John,
Thanks for the input, but no my accelerator stop(that little button) is welded in and still presently attached to the lockframe. That did fall out before and I took a mig welder to it around the hole and an additional weld at about the 4 oclock position to add strength to it. The gun ran just fine afterwards so I don't think it has anything to do with my current problem.