1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The broadest range of information is usually available from the users of this board......... Wifes school chum son died. Left a nice 1965 Chrysler (big car) but no ignition switch key. No local scrapper has nothing this old anymore. Have taken the ignition switch to several 'locksmiths' (????) who tried master keys in it to no avail. I need an ignition switch w/key to get this thing out of my yard. Any help????????

·
Registered
127 Posts
As a retired locksmith I am suprised you are having trouble geting a key.
Try the website;
clearstar.com.
This is a website for locksmiths but there is a form where the general public can ask questions. Post your question there. Also state where you live. You should get some help.
This is also a good place to ask any lock or safe questions.
Good luck.
LWC

·
Registered
187 Posts
They are quite easy to hotwire: add a wire to get power to the ignition and then power to the solenoid. no keys required.

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
jj

Will try the site ............. As to hot wire, this is OK for me but the woman owner will still be in trouble. Although I want this car gone, I am uncomfortable not getting it done correctly. She intends to use the car.

·
Registered
850 Posts
Several years ago the key lock cylinder went out in my 86 jeep. Went to Napa got a new lock cylinder which comes with its own keys. This was not an OEM part but it got the job done.

·
Registered
944 Posts
I had an old car with a busted ignition key cylinder once. Couldn't find a new part and they wanted an ungodly price for a new one.

I added a toggle switch for the ignition and a push button for the starter.

You have to remember to turn off the ignition switch or it will drain your battery. I used one that illuminated when it is on.

·
Registered
2,916 Posts