1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious, as I am somewhat new to this reloading / changing of rounds, how do you remove a bullet from a live round, with out damaging the bullet?

IE I have some 30-06 rounds that I want to salvage the bullets (black tip) and then reinstall the bullets into 308 rounds.

Maybe this is a basic question, but I see a lot of reloaders for starting with the individual new parts, but not much info on salvaging parts.

Thanks, David

·
Registered
48 Posts
Go get yourself a Kinetic Bullet Puller.It looks like a plastic hammer, you put a live round on one side and wack the other side on the ground, table, work bench or anything deserving to be hit and it pulls the head and contains the powder. You can find them cheap on sleezebay all the time.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
A kinetic bullet puller and use the end grain of a piece of hardwood to strike against. If you hit it on concrete or any other hard surface, you'll crack the plastic.
The end grain of a piece of wood will give enough to prevent breaking the tool, but will be strong enough to make it work.

Hopefully you have thoroughly read at least one reloading manual like the latest Lymans edition. This information is covered and you would do well to read one, paying particular attention to ALL the warnings. All the mistakes that can been made in reloading have already been made.....learn from other peoples mistakes, don't reinvent the wheel.

Oh.... DO NOT salvage the powder. Use fresh powder for your loads and dump the old powder on your lawn or shrubs.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Yep, Smokeless powder makes a great fertilizer.

I also 3rd the Kinetic puller opinions. I got a RCBS puller that works great.
At first you might be a little timid at whacking a bullet against the ground, but they're perfectly safe to use, and leave no pull-marks on the slugs like a collet puller can.