1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gents Ive changed the title based on the recommendations you've provided. So hammer or air hammer for riveting???? Ive read the tutorial hosted on this site numerous times, Im ready to purchase an air compressor but I cant afford to purchase a 6hp 30 gallon varriant recomended it the tutorial. Have any of you built a 1919 with a more afordable 1.5hp or 2hp 10 gallon tank? Do the rivets really need that much force to require that much air? Im also a newb to air compressor so if this is a dumb question please go gentle :D

·
Registered
6,355 Posts
No. Heating the rivets in unnecessary and potentially even counterproductive -- and also a waste of time, energy and money. Use a proper rivet setting tool, a good set of rivets (not Sarco, etc,) a pair of Visegrip pliers to hold the setting tool, preferably by your assistant but even not too difficult alone, and any hammer you feel like swinging -- but don't go too heavy. Check your progress frequently for evenness, and maybe put some tape (electrician's, masking, whatever) around your rivet's base to help prevent putting 'moons' or 'half-moons' onto the underlying metal. It's not difficult and is an acquired skill seldom seen anymore. You could even go for a 20-ton press from Harbor Freight and a rivet setting tool from another board member, but unless you're doing dozens of parts set guns probably not worth it. Check out our member MSG's listings (http://1919a4.com/showthread.php?11...inks-and-Drill-bits-For-Sale&highlight=rivets) for any of your rivet, drill bits or setting tool needs in the riveting vein. He took over our board's riveting advice/business after I got out of it, and he's "the" recommended go-to guy now. Proper rivet sets are not easily put together, so his expertise at this is well worth it! A two-pound-or-so hammer and you're on your way!!!

Carry On!
Gary
><>

·
BeltFed GURU
4,433 Posts