1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im still a newbie reloader and I got tired of searching the internet for load data, so I bough Lymans 49 edition last night. Heres a few things Ive noticed, and I am little perplexed...

1) No load data for the 5.56, 62 grain bullet? Its only in use by, like, 45% of the worlds military forces....

2)No load data for the 45 ACP, 230 FMJ?? (Also one of the the most popular rounds ever made)

3)..9x19.....147 gn bullet...Lyman shows MAX LOAD as 3.9 GN with Bullseye...Handloads.com and several other online sources say to START at 3.8??

4) 380 ACP...Shows 2.3-3.1gn with Unique and a 95 FMJ......Handloads.com suggests a STARTING load of 3.9 (Quotes Alliants 2000 load data)

What the hell? Thats some pretty huge differences. Is the Lymans manual reliable, or is there a better source?

·
Registered
363 Posts
I too am new to reloading and the first two calibers I tried to reload werent listed in the Nosler book. Nothing crazy either.
405 grain 45-70 (ya know, the old standard) and 148gr .38 Special.
I went and bought the Lee book Modern Reloading and its got TONS of info in it...seems to be much more complete.

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I too am new to reloading and the first two calibers I tried to reload werent listed in the Nosler book. Nothing crazy either.
405 grain 45-70 (ya know, the old standard) and 148gr .38 Special.
I went and bought the Lee book Modern Reloading and its got TONS of info in it...seems to be much more complete.
Funny you mention that caliber...I also started with 45-70 and had a real pain locating good, trusted recipes.

I just dont understand how the Lyman manual can be SO far off all the other sources.

·
BeltFed GURU
4,433 Posts