1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was all excited to start my first batch of 380 reloads this weekend. I finally had about 300 empty mixed headstamp cases saved up and I made the trip to Bass pro shops for a new Lee die set. (Im new to reloading but I really like how easy their setup and instructions are). So, Im about 4 rounds into de-capping and the de-capping pin pops up. (Is a safey feature Lee builds in to avoid damaging the pin due to excessively crimped primers.

Well, heres where my genius begins. Ive had really tight 9MM before, so I just tap the pin back down with a hammer. The pin pops again. I give up on that case, I get about 10 more done and the pin pops again. At this point, Im cursing. I hammer it again and...something doesnt feel right. I open it all up and see the pin is now bent at a 90 degree angle. Now, angry me takes over. I heat the pin up, straighten it and spend 15 minutes filing it to get it to fit again. I start the process all over again and...yep.....the pin just randomly pops on about the 10th empty case.

OK, so if you are an old-timer and you see this coming, grab a beer....

Im now stumped. But I notice it all seems to be the same headstamp thats popping the pins. Some weird, mid 80's South American surplus I bought a few years back. I look into the cases and the primer pocket looks RALLY small, and theres 2 small holes next to the pocket....wait a minute...

Yep. Its berdan primed. I was attempting to defeat the very safety mechanism designed to prevent this kind of mistake. Go Me!!! Im a fawking genius! :(

I did manage to get some test loads put together last night. 100 gn FMJ with Unique, loads ranging from 3.5 to 4.1. 5 rounds of each incremental load so I can see what works. Ill let you all know how they shoot, and Ill check my brass better next time.

·
Registered
6,355 Posts
"If something doesn't seem right, it probably isn't."

Carry On!
Gary
><>

·
Registered