1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I get a lot (and I mean a lot) of anonymous, cryptic, erroneous emails from folks I don't know with all kinds of suspect questions. Just as an example, here's a private message I recently received on our website from someone not on our registered members list. We have a lot of new guys and I just wanted to toss out a caution on these things. All of us are willing to share information and our knowledge to help fellow gun builders, but eagerness may need to be tempered with discernment. I personally draw the line on queries like this.

Hi Loboslanding
Allow me to introduce myself.

I am a gun enthusiast in Australia. I am a 40 year old farmer in the outback. I am not into crime ( I have a rifle and pistol license- impossible to get over here if you have a police record) and I'm not in a bikie gang( the source of most illegal arms over here). I am not a cop trying to entrap you, and I'm not a mischief making anti gun journalist.

Now to my problem.

Would it be possible to build a 1919A4 full auto from scratch with a lathe, mill, MIG, ARC and oxy/acet set? Bear in mind that I cannot get any kits/parts over here. I can get a 308 bbl (would 4140 steel be OK for sustained firing?) and I can also get 308 chamber reamers.

What CD or book would give the most detail in regard to machinist drawings,material specifications and heat treatment?

The weakest link(OK, an old joke I know)would be the links or belts. Neither are available here.Would it be possible to make the metal links with the right sheetmetal machinery? How about making the canvas belts with an industrial sewing machine?

OK, you're probably asking "Why go to all this bother?" Well for a gun enthusiast the Australian laws are a bit limiting. I'm just taking my hobby to its next step. I guess if I was a car enthusiast I would make a hot rod or restore a 1959 Caddillac Eldorado.