1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a new gun in 308 today so I'm new to all of this. I wanted to know what you have to do to use m-60 links in 1919a4. I've seen them used before but wanted to know if anything special had to be done to the gun. Or is there a different link that would work better. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
BeltFed GURU
4,321 Posts
only the C-5 variant will use M-60 links you need IMI links Ohio Ordance Works has them for $70 per 1K or $135 for 2K google the name and call and order you might try Widner`s Shooter Supply also they were selling them real cheap on phone orders specifiy izzy links IMI not 3006 links they will not work with 308

·
Registered
7,790 Posts
I have read that you can break off the little prong and use them, but I've never tried it. EDIT: The links I had are spoken for and gone.

·
Registered
2,916 Posts
M60 links will work in a pinch. you have to run them upside down and backwards. Bend the tang in till it contacts the case neck.

1919 links are cheap enough that its not worth the hassle though

·
Registered
34 Posts
M6o Links In 1919a4

I Have Been Thinking About Using The M60 Links In My 1919a4. This Probably Will Minimize The Wear On The Trunion Since The Brass Is The One Riding On The Trunion And Not Part Of The Links. Not To Alter Any Part Of The Rsp Or Extractor Claw But The Tang On The M60 Link. Do You It's Worth It?

·
Registered
864 Posts
--Belts, Links, Linkers and Belt-Loaders

Whether your 1919 is a 30.06, 8mm, or .308, it will run on cloth belts or disintegrating links without modifications to the feed device.

There are two types of links:
A) the US 30.06 Links (which will work w/ 8mm or 30.06)
B) the Israeli Links or "Izzy" links (which work w/ 30.06, 8mm, or .308).