1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got an original 1943 dated M2 tripod and T&E (I think). I dont think it was ever loaned out (to Israel anyway) as it is missing the holes in the feet for the pegs, when used in sand if I remember right. Anyway, it has alot of olive drab #7 green paint still on it. From what I've gathered WWII production tripods were painted this color and later on, just parkerized. The date and other data is on the head, behind the pintle ring, NOT on the front leg bracket on a seperate brass dataplate. So were most WWII M2's painted OD green during the war? I wasnt 100% sure, but this is what I was told and I thought I would get some more info seeing as how I'm new to actually owning a 1919A4.

·
Registered
3,059 Posts
M2 Tripod color

I asked this same question on another posting by Slick (M2 Tripod "X-outs"). I didn't get any answer either. Apparently nobody knows for sure. I would also like to know what exact shade of OD was used. More modern (1950 and later) OD was more of a green shade. WWII was more on the brown side I believe, at least in the early part of the war. As I understand it there was some question even during the war as to the exact shade with a great variance being tolerated by the military.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Every new tripod I have seen has always been parkerized. However I have only see new tripods from the 1960's and later.

I would have doubts that tripods were delivered with paint, but you never know.

·
Registered
3,059 Posts