1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,395 Posts
Hey All,
Thought i'd try my hand at painting some recently acquired maxim armour for a "M1910 captured by the germans" feel. Im by no means an expert or painter but was a fun little quarantine project.
While the quality of the painting is very good, I think you got a littttle carried away with the colors. There is no way any gun was camouflaged that way unless it was setup in the hood in NYC.

In WWI the Germans basically used three colors separated by black borders. they were a muted green, a rust color brown, and a cream/mustard yellow color. The best way to get a understanding of what they looked like is to google WWI German helmets and look at the image examples of original M16 helmets that were painted. The Germans used those same colors on their machine gun water jackets and on the maxim armour. I have also seen it on the sniper/MG armor suits.

Now if you were just having fun with us, just ignore what I said above because I don't even own a German gun....

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
While the quality of the painting is very good, I think you got a littttle carried away with the colors. There is no way any gun was camouflaged that way unless it was setup in the hood in NYC.

In WWI the Germans basically used three colors separated by black borders. they were a muted green, a rust color brown, and a cream/mustard yellow color. The best way to get a understanding of what they looked like is to google WWI German helmets and look at the image examples of original M16 helmets that were painted. The Germans used those same colors on their machine gun water jackets and on the maxim armour. I have also seen it on the sniper/MG armor suits.

Now if you were just having fun with us, just ignore what I said above because I don't even own a German gun....