1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im heading to a gunshow this weekend and maybe Ill find some powder. Im still brand new to this hobby and was wondering if there is a powder that can be used for 308, 30.06 and 30 Carbine? ( Im only loading pistol ammo so far, but may broaden to rifle soon). Is there a good all around powder that will work for all 3 calibers?

·
Registered
322 Posts
No
you need a faster powder for the 30 carbine like W-296. think of it as a pistol round

you can use IMR 4895 in both the others

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No
you need a faster powder for the 30 carbine like W-296. think of it as a pistol round

you can use IMR 4895 in both the others
Thanks for the no BS answer. Too many people make reloading way too over complicated. I like simple yes and no.

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you can use 4895 for 270win to just incase you get to that one
Havnt you done enough damage already!!?? You got me into all this in the first place!! :eek:

(wrenchin was my reloading mentor. The guy donated to me a HUGE amount of supplies and cases, dies and powders to get me started in reloading. )

·
Registered
4,955 Posts
IMR4895 is what I use, let us know if you find a source that has the 8# jugs available.
CaptMax

·
Registered
4,569 Posts
.30 carbine

I used to use blue dot for my .30 carbine, but since no one has seen any in 5 years I've had to find something else, and since powder location is hit or miss even now day I looked up a bunch of different powder to load with before I went looking, the only powder I could find on the shelf that I had a recipe for was "LiL Gun" they list a starting load at 14 grains, which is a lot of powder,I was only using 8 grains of blue dot,I haven't started using it yet so I don't know how it works,I have to finish up the 700 rounds of 30-06 I started this winter!

·
Registered
983 Posts