1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So for a decade I鈥檝e put off buying a 1919 kit, and of course I decide to finally jump in when everything is prohibitively expensive. 馃檮

So I work part time as a shade tree gunsmith/Refinisher at a local gun shop, and we thought this would be a fun project. So far I have my parts kit, a side plate from Wells, trigger set from Karma who also sent me the drawings to mill the internals.

Trying to figure out the most effective way to do the riveting now. Talking with Russ currently about his jig to set them, but open to whatever options there are. I love that jig, but also hate to invest that much in something we most likely only use once.

Anyways, I鈥檓 sure these build threads are old news to a lot of you, but perhaps I can document it in a way that helps the next newbie.

Premium Member
I'm curious about the providence of some of your parts. The rear site base and Bottom plate appear to be milled, not cast. IIRC, the long thread Trunnions are an early drawing number, where the Back plates with short grips came late to the game. Then again, the varied finish of the various parts shows they most likely came from different weapons. Interesting.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm curious about the providence of some of your parts. The rear site base and Bottom plate appear to be milled, not cast. IIRC, the long thread Trunnions are an early drawing number, where the Back plates with short grips came late to the game. Then again, the varied finish of the various parts shows they most likely came from different weapons. Interesting.
they appear to be a hodge podge of parts thrown together to make 鈥渁 kit鈥. I honestly don鈥檛 know enough about any of the 1919 parts to know the differences.