1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting pretty much retired. Or at least tired :)

My son just got a very nice HAAS VF3 with full 4rth axis and high speed spindle. It is going in his all new machine shop. He has worked full time in this industry 20 years now, where I'm just a hobbyist hack.

So, I gave him the CAD models for the FN series of browning machine guns. He is currently making several 70% complete side plates. Good project to see how well stuff I've made will transfer to him.

PM me if you have an interest in any of these parts.

Karl

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK here is part 1 off the brand new HAAS VF3 with 4rth axis. It is a 70% side plate for the FN38. To finish the part, band saw all the extra stock around the perimeter and file to a nice finish. Then hack out the rest of the charge handle slot and file to a nice finish, the outline is evident and it has been chain drilled. About the same work on the return spring slot. On the inside the back plate slot has not been done. We have learned THE HARD WAY that not all weapons are the exact same length and slot location. this feature will need a manual milling machine to do the slot. Also all holes are drilled under size. They should be match drilled to finish.

The kid plans on FN30 model 52 and FN30 next. Help him pay for his new machine.

Automotive exterior Bumper Auto part Automotive lighting Grille

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The kid is on a roll. While running FN38s he finished the model for FN30, plans to run the first one this evening.

He REALLY LIKES his new Haas VF3. The Matsuura lost pa
rameters and he can not get anyone out to fix it.

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
he did not get enough commitments to make a second run. sold out first run right away.