1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents, Ive been hobby building for a while now using a Harbor Freight flux core welder. My welding sucks, but I feel Im somewhat limited because of the equipment Im using. I want an upgrade but because I dont weld much, I cant justify spending hundreds of dollars.

Ive found a guy selling an older Miller 'Millermatic 130' for $325. It includes a nice cart but no tank. It looks used but not abused. This is a 110 volt welder. Im looking to do light to medium work (gun builds and small fabrication). I want a unit thats easy to learn, takes readily available parts (tips, nozzles, wire, etc). What do you guys think about this welding machine? What are some obvious 'stay away' items to look for?

·
Registered
383 Posts
I'm not a professional welder by any stretch of the imagination, but I do have 2 gas mig welders. I have one small Lincoln 110v welder that is good on light steel and body panels, and a bigger Miller 220v unit that works well on heavier material.

Most 110v welders in my opinion don't have enough amps to do the heavy metal welding. So weather this welder will work for you depends on what you want to weld. Decide how heavy of material you want to weld then find a welder than is rated for material about a third heavier. You want the extra capacity so you aren't stressing the welder if you start working it hard welding the material you figured on using it with.

Steve

·
Registered
87 Posts