1919 A4 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys
Ive been shooting my 1919a4 now for about 3 yrs. Never ever had a problem until tuesday the 4th. Probaly shot 10000 rd thru it with no problems. Well anyway about 200 rds thru a 250 belt and the shroud just shot off the end of the gun. Landed about 30 ft down range. The set screws were in place and tight. Pulled the holes out. Looks like I can fix it but I was just wondering why it done what it done. Has anybody else ever had this problem?? Not a lot of carbon in the booster. I clean it every outing. I have never had the shroud off and always check before shooting.
papple

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I call them set screws. There are 2 screws that go thru the shroud into the trunion to keep the shroud from unscrewing. The screws were still tight but I DONT KNOW----------- The trunion end of the thing looks a bit swelled so I may need a new one.

576 Posts
Something very wrong happened. The shroud is most assuredly not supposed to pull off over the trunnion threads and certainly not if you have TWO locking screws.

Either your trunnion threads are FUBAR or your shroud threads are wasted...hope for the shroud to be trashed because those are chesp and easy to replace. That being said, someting pretty serious happened I think.

Really interested in this one...first I have heard of this.

·
Registered
85 Posts
booster threads

What do the threads on the booster end look like? Sounds like the booster came loose and tilted on the end and the bullet struck it hard enough to pull the shroud off.
Just a guess.....

576 Posts
That booster would really have to be canted to get a bullet to hit it. The hole in the end is quite large.