1919 A4 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my 1911 and 50 rounds of my recent reloads to the range today. Had to make it quick as I had to get back to Dad in the hospital. (knee replacement) Anyways, I get to the range and the first thing I do is check the brass bucket. (Im a NOOB reloader and finding a few dozen 45 casings makes me all happy.) I looke din the bucked and had to do a double take....I looked again and saw it was filled with over 100 rounds of brand new, unfired 9mm rounds.

I picked up a few and saw that they had VERY light primer strikes. About 50% of the rounds didnt even have primer dents! Somebody made a batch of homebrews and some didnt fire, so they threw them ALL out. I took them all home to tear down, as I JUST started reloading 9mm for the first time this week. Closer inspection showed that the powder was good, the primers were good, BUT, all the primers were WAY too high. Whoever tried to fire them didnt even try to give them a second strike.

I stripped 128 rounds tonight, used the powder to blow up a stuffed animal and will reload the cases this week. Its the little things that make me happy.

·
Registered
6,355 Posts
Doesn't take much! :drink:

Carry On!
Gary
><>

·
Registered
5,129 Posts
I think it was blowing up the stuffed animal....:D

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
I was so relieved to see that you took them home and tore them down instead of shooting them. Congrats on your find!!

Something that all shooters need to consider, no..strike that.....NEED TO ADOPT 100% is NEVER FIRE ANY AMMO FOUND ON A RANGE!!!! EVER!!!

The way that crazy, anti gun sicko fucks are these days, it would not be beyond their sick twisted minds to sabotage ammo and leave it to be found.

Never re use the powder either, burn it or toss it on the lawn

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
I found about 300 rounds of .223 55SP ammo in a trash can at the range last year.